The Weight Issue

Every time I open a magazine, particularly health magazines, or I get an update from some of the sites I subscribe to, their key message or articles are about how to lose weight.

How did we become so preoccupied with weight as a society?

It’s everywhere. Eat less of this, more of that. Don’t eat such and such, eat x every day.

Australian supermarkets have become like American supermarkets were 25 years ago. When food shopping whilst on a skiing holiday in the States back then, it was almost impossible to find basic foods that did not have something added or removed. All, supposedly, with the intention of making us healthier.

Since that time, America has become a nation of obese people, with 2 in 3 adults either overweight or obese (http://win.niddk.nih.gov/statistics – 2010). Australia is going the same way with 3 in 5 adults being overweight or obese (http://www.aihw.gov.au/overweight-and-obesity). We are potentially facing an obesity epidemic.

When searching the shelves in the supermarket, I really have to look for the unadulterated and non-modified standard foods, such as milk, cheese, yoghurt, breads, meats, etc.

We have developed a pre-occupation with fats. So many foods have the fat removed from them. But to make them palatable, they have sugar added. We need healthy fats and we don’t need added sugar. It’s best to eat sugar when it occurs naturally in foods.

Picture

I consulted her again when I was diagnosed with early breast cancer 3 years ago, as I wanted to ensure that what I was eating was supporting my body to return to good health. I found her guidance enormously beneficial in assisting my road to recovery.

Post chemotherapy, I put on weight and was struggling to lose it, so I went to see Emma again. This time we looked at my overall lifestyle. I took on eating at least five vegetables a day and increasing my strength-building exercise. I also attended a workshop she was participating in at the Family Wellness Centre and was inspired by what Clinical Hypnotherapist and Master NLP Practitioner, Linda Funnell-Milner, had to say about attitude to food and how hypnotherapy can assist.

So I had a consultation with her and discovered that I had a deprivation mentality about food and felt guilty if I wasn’t eating for weight reduction. I was waiting until I was ravenous before eating and then eating too much. She did two trance sessions with me and suggested I try a new eating pattern:

1.    Eat when you are hungry
2.    Eat what you want to eat – (not what you think you should eat)
3.    Eat consciously, slowly, enjoy every mouthful
4.    Between each mouthful put your knife and fork down
5.    When you think you are full, stop eating

It is important to eat when you are between fairly hungry and full.

How will you know if you are hungry? If you feel a bit hungry, but aren’t sure, drink some water (or peppermint tea). If you are still hungry 15 minutes later, have something to eat. If you’re not hungry wait until you are.

I’ve been doing this for the last six months whilst following Emma’s tips on healthy eating. The results? My weight has stopped fluctuating. I have no guilt around food. I am enjoying everything I eat. Have a treat every now and then. I feel great and am told I look really good.

I have taken on accepting my body just the way it is – athletic with a little roundedness.

In the meantime I’ve started a new venture, The Vital You, healthy cooking workshops for wellness. Learn more about our philosophy, workshops and weekends.

Leave a Reply

