Being My Best Friend

ImageToday was about recovery. What from? A big challenge I undertook yesterday in a team of four amongst a couple of thousand walkers. We participated in Sydney’s Coastrek, an annual 50km (or 100km if you’re really game) walk from Palm Beach to Balmoral Beach. As I’m not completely mad, I chose to do the 50km.

How did this come about? One of my gorgeous, fit, adventurous girlfriends, who had done Coastrek before, asked me mid last year if I’d like to join her team for this year. I saw it as a great challenge as well as opportunity. It gave me a goal to increase my fitness and get my body back to full health.

Image 2We started training in October with 15km walks every second weekend, then increased to 20km, 25km and finally 30km. Through our training we walked the whole route – roads, soft sand beaches, beautiful bush tracks, stairs, steep driveways and footpaths – covering every type of terrain available along Sydney’s magnificent northern beaches coastline. Once I’d done the 30km walk, I knew my body was up to the 50.

My training also included pilates once a week, yoga twice a week, soft sand walking and my usual beautiful brisk morning walks three times a week. I ate as healthily as I could each day and then determined what gave me energy on my training walks – Bird Bars, Protein Balls and Coconut water for rehydration. And, of course, plenty of water.

This was an achievement for me in so many ways. When I started training my energy level was low on hills and my breathing laboured. I’d put on a few unwanted kilos last year and had developed a mild lymphoedema in my left arm. With Sydney starting to get hot, I was concerned I would aggravate the lymphoedema. Instead, with a managed remedial programme with my physiotherapist and regular lymph drainage from my lymphatic masseur, the fluid in my arm started to reduce and they cleared me to walk. My lungs got stronger, such that I didn’t find the hills difficult and the bonus is I have shed 4 kilos in the process. A win all round really.

Fred HollowsAnother part of our challenge was to raise money for the work of The Fred Hollows Foundation which restores sight to people who are needlessly blind in developing countries and aboriginal communities. Our team raised $5,000 which will see 200 children and adults have their sight restored through cataract operations. It is reassuring that our efforts will make a difference too.

During a Sydney summer, one would expect sunshine, a gentle breeze, a little humidity and heat. A shower or two and 23C was predicted yesterday. Instead we got 20C and pouring rain; so out went the sunscreen and on went the raincoats. This presented us with difficult and challenging conditions. Rather than see the beautiful azure waters of the Pacific Ocean and bronzed bodies spread along the sand, we saw rugged grey waves on deserted closed beaches; except for walkers, of course. There was a steady stream of them along the coastline.

Image 4Our final achievement was to complete the walk within our time goal of 12 hours. Through driving rain, with wet shoes, strong winds, along soft sand, down slippery paths, whilst dealing with long toilet queues and track bottlenecks, we did it in 11 hours 53 minutes and 25 seconds without a cross word, supporting each other all the way.

At the end, even with aching joints and sore muscles, we picked up speed and ran through the finish line to the click of cameras and my husband waiting with a bottle of champagne to celebrate. How lucky were we to have him on our support team.

Thank goodness for massage. I had a wonderful remedial massage this morning which saw my muscle and joint pain disappear. Being totally self-indulgent or responsible, take it as you will, I followed it with a lymphatic massage. The best news was my lymph fluid was down. After all that exercise. What a miracle!

I have come a long way in the past 12 months and am probably in the best mental, emotional and physical state of my life. I am strong and well and that is a great gift. During today’s massage it came to me that my body is my best friend. Why? Because I love it and am a true friend to it! That’s what I’m grateful for today.

4 thoughts on “Being My Best Friend

  1. So proud of you for all you have achieved, especially your determination to become the best version of yourself. I hope others are inspired to take on life in the same way. x

Leave a Reply

