The Power of Meditation

In the Namib Desert, Namibia

In the Namib Desert, Namibia

I’ve been in Africa for the past five weeks. Most of the time was spent in the desert. What a wonderful place it is for meditation and mindfulness. Whilst we travelled great distances and were up early most days, there was a rhythm and beauty to the landscape which enabled mindfulness. Each day was meditative, spiritual, peaceful and rejuvenating at the same time. I felt fully alive.

Meditation has kept knocking on my door for most of my adult life. I resisted it for years, afraid of losing or disconnecting from myself. How wrong I was.

I have been quite an anxious person most of my life. I was given a meditation tape by my doctor in my 20′s. It had nothing on it. I thought, “he’s playing a joke on me”. Then a previous boyfriend gave me Dr Gillian Ross’ “Meditation for the Third Eye”. It took me many attempts and a few tears before I let go enough to do the meditation. Over time I got a calming benefit and found peacefulness. Then I stopped. Why? Work and life got in the way. And I think, subconsciously I thought I was ‘cured’!! Of what?

When I started to go through menopause I would wake up several times a night especially at 3.00am, alert with my mind racing. To get myself back to sleep l would do Ian Gawler’s ‘White Light’ meditation. A friend had told me about it when he had prostate cancer.

Then, when I was diagnosed with early breast cancer, I realised I had lost my calmness of mind. I had completely given up meditating. My mind was racing more often than it was calm.

Lying Down Meditation

Lying Down Meditation

Post operations I started my daily practice again lying down. I did two 5-minute meditations each morning where I would breath deeply, relax my body and visualise love and light radiating through me, and I’d experience the miracle of being healed. For the next 5 minutes I would envisage the presence of love, light and miracles throughout my day.

After attending the ‘Quest for Life’ programme for people with cancer at Petrea King’s Quest for Life Centre, I did many of her guided meditations – Golden Light, Forgiveness, Rainbows to Healing, Healing Journey. When I woke up each morning I would ask my mind and body which meditation do I want today. It would tell me instantly. I call this my intuition and I always followed it. Invariably during the mediation any questions or concerns in my subconscious would be resolved.

The calming healing aspect of the meditation gave me strength and put me in a beautiful place every day, no matter how I felt physically.

If I was unwell, I meditated lying down. When I had some energy, I sat in a chair or cross-legged on a cushion.

No DrugsDuring this time, a friend introduced me to a beautiful energy healer, Michelle Richmond. She suggested I do Joe Dispenza’s meditations, ‘Water Rising’ and ‘Body Parts’. These meditations were miraculous. They put me deeply in touch with my intuition. After the fifth chemo session I was struggling physically. My breathing was very laboured and I had developed a persistent dry cough. In my meditation, on the 4th day after this session, my body clearly told me, “NO MORE DRUGS. Please do not put anything else into me”. I also got this message at Quest for Life, but was too scared to heed it. It was like a light turning on. It opened a new episode for me in my treatment. (I am not recommending this decision. I am using it to show the power of meditation.)

I had breakfast with some girlfriends that morning. When they said, “how are you?” I broke down. “No good” I sobbed. They said I looked like life was being sapped out of me. I told them about my meditation and that I didn’t want to continue chemotherapy.

And so began a new discussion with my husband, family and doctors. I ceased chemo after session five. I felt it was starting to harm me more than I was willing to experience.

I decided to LIVE A QUALITY LIFE however long that may be.

Walking Meditation experiencing the day's beauty

Walking Meditation experiencing the day’s beauty

I continue to meditate every day, whether it be by allowing the beauty of the world to greet my body for several minutes each morning, a walking meditation, a guided meditation, my personal meditation or through yoga. I have received the GIFT of meditation and will not let it leave my life again. It is very powerful.

3 thoughts on “The Power of Meditation

  1. I must try to do more regular meditation after reading this you have inspired me… I do believe there is a point if you listen to your body where you can say … No more… Thank you for sharing your experience..

  2. Hi! I just stopped by and was checking out a few of your posts. I’m a firm believer of complementary therapy, especially meditation. I had a quick question about your blog and was hoping you could email me back when you get the chance -emilywalsh688 (at) gmail.com- Thanks : )

    Emmy

Leave a Reply

